Ultimaker Original extrusion issue

pupperino

Posted · Ultimaker Original extrusion issue

Hello everyone, I'm very very new to the 3d printing world (a couple of months actually), so the machine-related problems are new to me as well.

I'm working with an Ultimaker Original whose problem is that during the print, it suddently stops extruding material. I noticed that the feeder is not pushing the material inside the extruder but sometimes the melted plastic starts flowing only if I push manually, sometimes it doesn't. The material seems deformed inside the nozzle, with a "waterdrop"-like shape.

I'm using PLA, I tried to print with 210° C and then I lowered it to 190° but the problem remains, and also the print looks covered in little and rounded scrap of plastic (the pic below shows this issue better than me sorry), but it might be the already printed material that the nozzle is carrying around.

Is this a clogged nozzle problem? Or a feeder one? Or is it time for me to buy a flamethrower and baptize the machine with fire?

I offer a reward of endless joy and gratitude, plus a bunch of heart emoji.

IMG_20190214_120414.thumb.jpg.d6ad048ff9fc47dcbf55a5836172b46e.jpg

Ultimaker.gif.b3c9613a54f267012fadf988ec194c5c.gif

this could be a lot of things, test the everything from feeder to nozzle:

Check if the little black wheel inside the feeder is rotating freely, and if the tension is right. When closed, try to pull at the filament if it slips. https://ultimaker.com/en/resources/240-cleaning-the-feeder. Look at the marks on the filament, are they overall the same? Deep or shallow? Are there bite marks?