Printer Stops After Executing Start G-Code

CU_Ninjaneer

Posted · Printer Stops After Executing Start G-Code

I'm running Cura 4.0 on a Silhouette Alta through my MacBook Pro with macOS Mojave.  Since the MacBook only has USB-C ports, I'm connected over a USB-C to USB-A adapter then the normal USB-A to USB-B cable.  I'm printing over USB because the Alta has no provisions for printing from SD or other memory.  I am new to Cura, but I have found others on the forum using Cura with the Alta so I know it's possible.

When I print, it executes my Start G-Code to home all axes, move to the dump, prime the nozzle, move back to the bed, and print a prime blob on the bed.  Then once it reaches the actual part print, everything just stops.  The effector stops moving, the hot end heater stays on, and Cura keeps counting up the % complete, but no printing is happening so I have to abort the print.

I tried saving the G-code then copy-pasting it into the G-code input field in the monitor tab one line at a time to verify there's no issue with the G-code generated during slicing.  It all looks good, I managed to print the first layer this way.  Yes, it took forever.  

So it seems like either Cura either stops sending commands after the Start Code or my printer isn't receiving/processing the commands.  Can anyone offer any advice?

Posted (edited) · Printer Stops After Executing Start G-Code

I'll have a look at it tonight. 

A few things to try out (as long as you haven't done it already):

Have you saved the created gcode and checked it with Cura or another gcode viewer (e.g. Gcode viewer)? 

Since you write that the prime blob does function, I am pretty sure that your connections works via the connector). I suppose there is an error either in the start gcode or maybe another setting. 

Edited by jenny8008

I'm having the same exact problem.

(ultimaker orginal usb only)

This has been happening since a few days.