Suggestion for automatic software update for cura

Dilli

Posted · Suggestion for automatic software update for cura

Hey Ultimaker,

I'm a doctoral student working on 3D printing and smart materials at a polymer research institute. I would like to make a small suggestion, as Cura is releasing updates in almost every 2 months, it gets too hectic to download each new version and perform the administrator installation, as I'm working in a research institute, each time when we have to install a software, we have to get the assistance from IT department to get it installed, due to the IT safety rules. I hope many people who are using the software in the industry or professional department come across such an issue. 

So could you make it so, that one could agree or disagree for the software to download the new version automatically in the software and the updating or copying the new version occurs automatically by copying particular files to the particular part of the software location and update the software by it itself, with the consent of the user and not the administrator rights? And when one doesn't want the new software or particular version they can download it from your website and uncheck from the automatic version updates. 

I hope this would help lots of people who are working in the Industry and other institution.

That's it for now. 

Signing off

Dilip Chalissery

Bugs happen in Cura. I don't think you really want automatic updates. Sometimes you want to hold back on an update.

Having said that, you can extract the files from the Windows installer with just about any archiving application (eg 7zip), and run Cura.exe from there without installing it to Program Files. That should make it possible to use a newer version without bothering asking your IT department for support.

• Like 1

46 minutes ago, ahoeben said:

I don't think you really want automatic updates.

Bad scenarios when you have auto-updates working.