Model dimensions too small?

Posted · Model dimensions too small?

I haven't done a lot of printing, so I'm pretty new to both Cura and modelling. The part I'm trying to print has really small dimensions and some pretty specific geometry. Parts I have printed previously could handle small geometries pretty well, so I would've thought that it was possible to make this part as well. The preview section in Cura however shows that it's not really able to make the desired shapes.

Is the part just too tiny, or are there some settings that could help with this? 

V19 Connector offset.STL

Can you show a photo?  I'm on vacation and don't have cura installed here.

Try setting the line width to 0.1mm just to see what happens.  In general wall should be 2X line widht but if you enable "print thin walls" or use a small nozzle you can print thinner things.

Alternatively the model might just not be water tight.  

Thanks for your help! I added some photos that hopefully shows the scale of the model. The overall shape is lost when I go to the preview section and see how the layers are built. 

Cura model.PNG

Preview.PNG

CAD.PNG

I don't know the cause of the slicing problem, so I will leave that to others.

But even if you could get it to slice correctly, the 6 tiny holes will be way too small to print, I think: they will get closed down. Also the circular gap around the holes will become too narrow to be functional, if it has to be functional and not only visual. (It looks like a cap for a DIN-connector or something similar?)

Unless you would use a 0.25mm nozzle at low speed, temp and layer heights, then you might have a chance.

It's supposed to be a cap for an I/O connector, yes. I kind of expected the six pin holes to be too small, but I might have to try and model the cover another way. The only nozzle I have available is 0.4mm, so it could get tricky. Thanks for your feedback!