What kind of tape to use for surface?

jackques

Posted · What kind of tape to use for surface?

Hello all,

I'm a student from the Netherlands and have been using the 3D Ultimaker for quite some time now, making nice looking little toy figurines with my schools ultimaker.

Check out the cool little toy factory it printed:

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/8164925/ultimaker%20fotos/IMAG0515.jpg

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/8164925/ultimaker%20fotos/IMAG0516.jpg

For my school project I need to make a lot more of these but every time I encouter a very time consuming and difficult chore. The material which comes out of the 3D printer "sticks" on the taped surface of the plateau.. making it very difficult to remove the figurines..

I've tried everything from taping the surface with normale plastic tape, to special painter's tape but every time I got the same problem. In order to even remove it, i need to remove the entire tape like so:

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/8164925/ultimaker%20fotos/IMAG0568.jpg

And sometimes this causes the 3D models to break, unfortunatelly:

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/8164925/ultimaker%20fotos/IMAG0517.jpg

So what I'm asking is if anyone has any advice for me on what to do with the surface? I always need to use circular shapes in my 3D models,.. I dont have a choice in that..

Currently i'm using this kind of tape for the surface:

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/8164925/ultimaker%20fotos/IMAG0566.jpg

Maybe use other tape?

If you clean the tape with isopropyl alcohol it will be even sticker. So DON'T CLEAN THE TAPE. Use fresh tape and it won't be so sticky. By the second print it will be stickier so I would change the tape after every print.

Also you can increase the skin thickness in Cura to make the edge of the cylinder stronger. Go at least 1.2mm (4 passes of .4mm nozzle).

Lift the edge with a knife carefully. Be patient. Then when you get a little space, use a putty knife.