Sketchup V AutoCAD 3D

jimmyd

Posted · Sketchup V AutoCAD 3D

I’m relatively new to the amazing world of 3D printing and having used this forum for some very real printer issues (now happily resolved) and found this forum very helpful I thought I throw out for some guidance. Im now getting very familiar with the Ultimaker but I wanted to use this forum of experts for some specific guidance to help me get even more from my Ultimaker.

Im an AutoCAD (construction design) veteran and have developed all 3D models to date within the CAD suite. I’m also well versed in Sketchup but we’re on the verge (as a business) of migrating to REVIT. We need this for its BIM properties but I was wondering if this community had any suggestions on THE best 3D printer modelling suite?

Also what would people recommend for protecting the printer bed? Im using masking tape but leaves a moulding effect on all models base and this seems like a very good place to start with ‘improving the quality of my models’ goal.

Many thanks

J

The best tool depends on the job and what you are used to. But SketchUp isn't the best tool for 3D printing, it's one of the worse actually, as it has a tendency to add internal faces and holes around the model.

I'm playing around a bit in SpaceClaim, which I really like. And most likely cheaper then AutoCAD :p (still expensive tough)

Hi Jimmy D

I'm an in-house architectural model maker and I use various programmes to achieve the end result in MY work line. I have used MicroStation for years and I am most comfortable with that but here at work drawings are produced in AutoCAD ( could never get on with it!) so I use both programmes to resolve issues switching and saving between the two then using Rhino to refine and save as .stl for printing.