Got my Ultimaker2...but

blackomega

Posted · Got my Ultimaker2...but

I'm new to 3D printing and new to this forum so apologies for my ignorance that may come across.

My Ultimaker2 arrived a couple of days ago and after reading several posts of a negative nature I was a little apprehensive but I thought I'd share my initial discoveries.

1. I was pleased to see that the glass build plate is now packaged in a way that means it cannot be damaged or cause damage easily. I found it was securely bubble wrapped and packed on top of the unit itself. So a welcome improvement based on peoples comments.

2. The LED lighting strips are not secured very well. I have noticed that if the unit is on for a while then they come away from the insides of the unit and, in the case of the top strip, actually interferes with the front-top pulley. I keep having to press them back into place. I'd suggest using a glue that is not affected as much by heat.

3. The levelling of the build plate is a bit vague I found especially when it gets to the paper adjustment step when it says to adjust until your feel a little resistance. How much is a little? I chose to put it directly at the point where a single notch in the wheel (or slight turn of the screws at the front) is the difference between no resistance and something detectable. Don't know if this correct. Could some sort of automatic levelling using a laser not be possible?

4. The manual albeit ok, could do with some proof reading as there are a few spelling mistakes and at one point an incorrect reference. There could also be more pictures especially when there are references made to screws (i'm thinking largely in the troubleshooting section).

5. As reported by others, the filament spool uncurls and wraps around the spool holder need the back of the unit. I plan to design and print out a sort of extended spool lip that should hopefully keep the filament on the spool itself.