Problem with 'pooling' at points and spheres models

Whayt

Posted · Problem with 'pooling' at points and spheres models

I'm fairly new to 3D printing and just getting back into it after a long break and am unable to figure out what is causing this problem.

I was 3D printing a little figure for fun and when it came down to the top of the sphere of the head or point on the back the filament just started to puddle up and pool. I also tried it on a model of just a pyramid.

I've tried decreasing the temp, flow rate, speed and even tried a different filament with no luck.

Hopefully one of you out there will be able to help me cause I'm over here pulling my hair out over this printer.

IMG_2209.jpg

IMG_2207.jpg

That's a common problem.  I usually solve that by printing two (or even 5) of the same object.

Or I print a tower right next to the part.  This allows the previous layer to cool a little while it prints the tower (or other object).  Otherwise the nozzle never leaves the puddle/blob and so it can't solidify.

Another solution is called "lift head".  Enable that feature and set the minimum layer time to something like 3 or 5 seconds.  Then when it gets to these tiny layers it will move the head away for a few seconds to cool.  The problem is you are just trading one problem for another - while the head is "lifted" it will slowly (over 2 seconds) extrude a tiny little sausage-string and then when it continues it will glue that into the side of the part and you get these annoying hairs.

I prefer the tower/2 parts solution instead.

Posted (edited) · Problem with 'pooling' at points and spheres models

Like gr5 said: this is a cooling problem: the hot nozzle keeps sitting on same spot on top of the model, so it can't cool down and solidify. This is a limitation of this printing-concept.