I need to help adjust print quality ,,, please .

hassan-mabrook

Posted · I need to help adjust print quality ,,, please .

Hi

I'm new with 3d printer

I have a problem in quality

I've used printing according to these settings

http://umforum.ultimaker.com/index.php?/topic/1872-some-calibration-photographs/

I suffered from this problem since getting UM2

With all plans , even with the factory default settings

Used PLA

original thing :

http://www.thingiverse.com/thing:88849

My bad thing :

c98AG.jpg

What speed and temperature are you printing? Do you have retraction enabled? The main problem looks to be that retraction isn't working well, so that the nozzle is oozing plastic during the moves.

My um2 came default settings for PLA retraction to use 2.5mm. That's not enough. Change that to at least 4.5mm. Someone with a UM2 suggested even more - I think maybe 5.5mm but whatever your retraction is, increase it slightly.

190C and 20mm is very smart. This is a good setting.

DO NOT use "default" settings or easy print settings or whatever they are called. Only use expert mode and make sure "retraction" is enabled. Also set the other retraction parameters in expert settings to 0. So minimum extrusion should be 0. Minimum travel should be 0. Otherwise it won't retract at al. Even a minimum extrusion of .1mm translates to 4.9mm of movement if your layer height is .1mm and some of your extrusions for this bracelet look smaller than 5mm. So set these to zero!!!

Hassan!

Moderator is right!

In Cura, in advanced settings, like he says is right!

In UM2, Maintenance, Advanced, Retraction, set it to 4.5mm or 5mm.

Next thing, print at 75 speed.

Update: General rule, slower print=better result. BUT: if you print very slowly, combined with high temperature and high Material flow, then it will ooze.. string,,,

Thanks, gr5.

IMPORTANT: You can set the speed right after the print starts.