Avoiding Mid Print Bed Height Adjustment

PharmDDan

Posted · Avoiding Mid Print Bed Height Adjustment

Hey Guys,

1st post here, so I'm excited to be part of the community. I'm new to 3D printing, but have been messing around with my Ender3 and CURA for a few months now dialing everything in. I find that to get good 1st layer squish I need to have the bed closer to the nozzle than the next layers. If I do not change the bed height manually after my 1st layer is down with the 4 adjusting screws, my subsequent layers will over extrude and feel rough and not smooth. By lowering the bed manually mid print, I get good first layer smoothness and squish, and then smooth subsequent layers.

Is there a way to tell CURA to print the first layer closer to the bed than the rest of the layers of the print?

I've played around with "Initial Layer Height" but it seems to make my issue worse.

Printing on Ender 3 with Glass bed.

Attached is the PLA profile I have tuned over the last few months.

PLA Profile.curaprofile

Posted (edited) · Avoiding Mid Print Bed Height Adjustment

Hi @PharmDDan

You don't need to adjust your print bed height after the first layer, In Cura under the Quality settings, adjust the setting "Initial Layer Height" you have it matching the normal layer height and its better to have it set bigger so it pushes down to the print bed more for the first layer. A good setting for this would be 0.20 mm

Edited by Carla_Birch

As Carla said, the best option is to set the initial layer height.  You can also push the "Material / Initial Layer Flow" up to 110% or 120% BUT that would mean more plastic in the way for the subsequent layers and you would still have over-extrusion symptoms unless you back the flow off to 95% for layers 2 to 5 or so.  I've gotten very consistent at leveling the bed and I run Initial Layer Height at .20 and Initial Layer Flow at 105%.