Peaks on sharp edges

Posted · Peaks on sharp edges

Hey!

I am fairly new to all of this. However, I created a 3D-Model and am seeing some peaks on top of sharp edges on the upper layers of my model.

The  peaks do not exist on the actual model. I am sure that there is something I am getting wrong.

To add some additional background, I am using Cura 4.6.2, which should be the latest version. 

I also added a slight chamfer (0.2mm) to the vertical edges, from which the peaks seem to extend. It did not fix the issue though.

I attached a screenshot of both, the model and the sliced layers. I also tossed the project file into there. 

Any help is greatly appreciated!

Thank you

2020-07-30 00_08_56-CE3_LongDiamondFixedSet v3 - Ultimaker Cura.png

2020-07-30 00_09_27-CE3_LongDiamondFixedSet v3 - Ultimaker Cura.png

CE3_LongDiamondFixedSet v3.3mf

Hey. Welcome to the forum.

What you are seeing here is what it will actually print. 

This is determined by your nozzle size and as those corners of the model are actually bigger in area then the straight lines then it will print them. Where as the straight lines are to thin at that point. 

Are those thin walls tapered? Fatter at the bottom and get thinner as they go up?

Sorry I'm not able to view your file right now so can't check myself.

Posted (edited) · Peaks on sharp edges

Thank you for the quick reply, Labern!

To answer your question: Yes, these walls are all tapered. It's supposed to be a cookie cutter. So the thin edges are thought of as cutting edges. 

Between the lines I read that my taper might be to steep? Is there a setting within Cura to adjust how tapered edges are to be treated, or should I adjust my model?

Thank you!

Edited by Kastenbrot

So for something like this I would design the thinnest part of the edge a little bit bigger then 2 x the nozzle size. So 0.81 if printing with 0.4 nozzle.