HELP! My support material won't still in one location

Posted · HELP! My support material won't still in one location

Hello Ultimaker community,

I am relatively new to 3D printing and I am having trouble solving this problem! Below is an image of an assistive device I am trying to print but i am having trouble trying to print the support material! Within the blue circle there is supposed to be a layer of support material but for some reason it will not stick to the initial layer, and in red on the upper half of the green boarder the support material is very blobbled and not working well where on the lower half its working great! MY original print worked well then i made some edits and tried to reprint it i started having these problems. 

I have already tried drying out the PVA support material, and i am unsure if it is the nozzle bc some parts are printing cleanly?

image.png.40c54672571e97b84b1e185ca22bb8a1.png

1) What is the green material?  PLA?  Because PVA doesn't work with some materials such as ABS.

2) Yes the PVA needs to be very dry.  You can tell if it's very wet because it will snap and crackle and sizzle and you can even sometimes see puffs of steam coming out of the nozzle.  This may not be your issue - I don't know.

3) This is a UM3, right?

4) Is the PVA directly on the build plate?  I hope so.  If not then this is a bug in Cura.  I may have seen this bug.  I think you could just turn off brim completely - this part might not need it.

5) Assuming PVA is directly on the build plate, try cleaning the bed very well, then put a few inches/cm of pva into a sealed jar with some water and let it dissolve for a day (or use wood glue - 10 to 20 parts water to one part wood glue and no waiting needed).  Then paint this slurry on the *clean* bed. 

6) Does your part really need any support?  I don't know what is going to print next so I don't know.  Maybe you can just turn the feature off.