Where did Fuzzy Skin on Top go?

Als3dPrinter

Posted · Where did Fuzzy Skin on Top go?

Hi! CURA is great and I've been using it a long time. Last year I printed a black set of knuckle-dusters and was able to get the fuzzy skin all over it, including the top. Now when I use Fuzzy Skin it only works on the sides. Someone in the FB forum said I'd have to go all the way back to 3.6 to get the fuzz back on top? Any chance I just missed a setting in the latest version? Any reason I can't Fuzzy the tops anymore?

IMG_5283.jpg

On 1/17/2021 at 2:22 PM, DivingDuck said:

Search Settings: Fuzzy

Edit: You're right.

Ya, kind of weird that they'd remove it considering that made the feature worse and not better. I'm no programmer though, so maybe there was a reason. I just wish it would come back!

• 4 months later...

I just ran into this.

It may not be perfect solution but you can tilt or skew the model so it does not have a horizontal surface. then slice it. 

It looks like Cura needs to see another layer above, to initiate the 'Jitter'

39 minutes ago, prafersno said:

It looks like Cura needs to see another layer above, to initiate the 'Jitter'

No, that is not it at all. Cura only "jitters" in the XY direction. Ultimaker Cura has never jittered in the Z direction.

• Like 1

By tilting the model, you have oriented the faces in such a way that jittering X and Y is enough. There is still no jittering in the Z axis of the print.

• Like 1

10 hours ago, ahoeben said:

By tilting the model, you have oriented the faces in such a way that jittering X and Y is enough. There is still no jittering in the Z axis of the print.

Never mentioned the z-axis. never even implied a z movement. 

It's laughable that my very first post on here is responded to by some know-it-all who didn't even acknowledge that Cura had a Fuzzy setting and then had no contribution to the problem. 

I'm here for solutions and collaboration. 

Done with this one.