Compensate Bent Frame with Cura? Fix?

Attenbach

Posted · Compensate Bent Frame with Cura? Fix?

Dear Community,

I have been using 3D printers since 2012 and my Ultimaker 2+ since 2016. 

Recently due to unfortunate circumstances, the printer fell on the ground from 1m height, the glass plate shattered and was replaced.

I reassembled the gantry and luckily it still worked fine after calibrating the build plate, or so I thought.

I now printed objects that fill the entire build plate and noticed that circles aren't perfectly round, rather oval. Googling came to the conclusion that the frame was indeed bent, I can measure squares being 88.7° instead of 90°. This is unacceptable for the current project, including 52mm dia. bearings,  >300N etc.

Theoretically this could the compensated in Cura in the short run. Does such "ovally streching" exist?

Long term, how would you solve this issue?

Thank you,

Attenbach

PS: the frame shows indents from the chute but is in an overall working condition, not crooked or broken.

There are 2 common things that can be crooked.  The entire frame.  Or just the cross bars through the head.  First check the two bars through the head for perpendicularity.  I usually assume the frame is fine and just push the head to the center of each of 4 sides and check that the blocks are hitting all at the same time.  If not loosen a set screw and make the 2 bars perpendicular.