S5 + Adhesion (noob question)

Posted · S5 + Adhesion (noob question)

I am having a ton of failed prints. The print won't stick and starts peeling, eventually just coming off and becoming a big blob.

My other printers are all heated bed with PEI. With most materials you are just printing after removing any oils or debris. Things like PETG and PC you are using a glue stick so it doesn't become a permanent part of the PEI sheet.

Now all I have is a glass plate with this S5. It has been a huge adjustment. I am a noob so I am not understanding why the raw glass is better than PEI.

I finally got one ABS print to succeed but I did the cartoon level of glue on the plate. There was so much glue that the bottom side was uneven from all the glue, not warping.

That one success made me ask this question; what amount of glue am I expected to put on the glass? Is there any docs on the amount of glue to use? I have been googling like crazy and not finding answers.

I can answer one part of the question by experience now; thin coat is worthless even with PLA

Thanks in advance for you time!

--jb

When using a glue stick, it's best to make like a grid layout with the glue stick and then get a damp cloth and rub it over the  spread the glue out so its a nice thin coating.

They don't use the damp cloth in that to spread it because they joined all the glue lines up.

Personally i use sprays like 3DLac in my printers because its just more easy and i feel works better also.

Thanks for the video link. Not sure why theirs works and mine doesn't but that is ok! I have gone and purchased a bunch of different products off Amazon. One of them will have to work 😛

53 minutes ago, subnoizellc said:

Thanks for the video link. Not sure why theirs works and mine doesn't but that is ok! I have gone and purchased a bunch of different products off Amazon. One of them will have to work 😛