Extruder jamming very often. Also leaking. Help? :)

glasswalker

Posted · Extruder jamming very often. Also leaking. Help? :)

Hey, so I'm new to the Ultimaker, but a veteran of the 3D Printing scene. Been around a while, and (had) a reprap mendel, and still have an Up, and a BFB 3D Touch at work. Plus the Ultimaker now. So I know my way around a printer.

I have to first say DAMN am I ever impressed with the mechanical build of the Ultimaker. It's resolution and print quality blow away EVERYTHING else that I've tried.

But... (here comes the issues) I'm having a hard time with the extruder. (and reading through here I'm seeing it's fairly common). I know this is just like anything else... Will take some time to tune/tweak/adjust. So just looking for tips/pointers/help solving this issue.

My Problem:

The extruder is jamming... Often... Like I can't finish most prints without it jamming to the point that I can't push filament through it. (if I heat it to 220 and push from the extruder drive end (with the gear disengaged) it will not extrude at all, but I can retract it fine). If I retract it, snip off the last couple inches, and re-load it, it extrudes fine again for a bit. But jams again shortly after that.

Also, I'm getting leakage. (I was getting it above the aluminum block, between it and the PEEK. now I'm getting it between the nozzle and the aluminum block). It's fairly minor, but irritating (long prints get lots of burnt spots in them from the oozing leaked plastic). Small prints are unaffected.

I'm extruding at 210C for my first layer and 200C for all other layers. I tried 10 degrees higher than this, and it oozed horribly. (I'm used to extruding at 185C on my other printers for PLA). So I dropped it lower. When at 185 or 190 it seems to have a hard time with adhesion and extruding fast. So I raised it back up to 210/200 and this seems to flow fine.