Lay objects outside bed during print

Posted (edited) · Lay objects outside bed during print

Greetings Im new to this.

Can anyone advise, is it OK to leave additional components outside of the build area or are there downsides to this?

My reasoning is build the first item, then move it out of the way then move and build the second item?

Thanks vm.

Al.

2021-07-28_10-45.thumb.png.b4bd745841808e742866464221c42516.png

Edited by BigAlGeorge
update
  • Like 1

• gr5 changed the title to Lay objects outside bed during print
Posted · Lay objects outside bed during print

The part off the plate is ignored and won't be in the slice.  As long as the parts are separate you should be good to go.  If the parts were located like that in a Group or Merged then Cura wouldn't slice because together they don't fit on the build plate.

If you are printing with a skirt you can make it 3 loops around at 1mm from the part.  That would make the reserved gray areas smaller and you might fit both on the plate at the same time.  That would mean that both parts would have the same settings (there are some "Per Model" settings that could be applied).  Stringing between parts can be an issue.

Leaving them separate they can be printed with their own settings which would include Layer Height.

Posted (edited) · Lay objects outside bed during print

Different materials so separate prints. Appreciate reply the skirt info I didnt know as well.

In this jar opener (project) the handles were tricky to fit to bed, and several inserts, so have a rethink that I dont want to move the handle out of the frame, but the inserts being outside are fine.

As I see it, the project saves current layout only, but I desire to keep the handle layout, as a (fixed) file. Do I need to make several projects eg handle project & inserts project, so I can go back to same handle layout, or is there another method?

Thanks, Al.

Edited by BigAlGeorge
    rethink