Problem with ironing

ChaseFamous

Posted · Problem with ironing

Hello all,

I am still new to printing and have tried a few different models, after printing a dice I made while using ironing I noticed that the top of it actually didn't turn out smoother than it was before. I thought this might be because of the "holes" that are on the top so I decided to print a simple flat square surface to see if ironing does work.

I tried printing this 3 times with a few tweaks every single time, but I get a weird blob where the ironing starts. I suspect a few things might be happening but I would like some insight.
The issues I think I might have:

• Extruder temperature too high
  • Nozzle possibly too close to the bed
  • Too much ironing flow

I am printing on an Ultimaker S3, will add the curaproject as an attachment.
The Dice I was talking about (with ironing on):
The Dice I was talking about (with ironing on):

Without ironing on:

Dice without Ironing

The squares with ironing on:
First one (default settings with some speed, acceleration and jerk decreased and ironing on)

First square

The second one, thinner so I could print it faster. I tried reducing the Ironing flow to 8% to see if it made a difference.

Second one printed (thinner because it would take less time)

The third one (which is also the curaproject.3mf in the attachment), I turned on nozzle retraction at layer change as well and changed some other settings.

The final one I've tried

I hope someone can help me pinpoint the problem I'm having.

UMS3_Ironing test.3mf

• 3 weeks later...
    Posted · Problem with ironing