I can't make clean holes when slicing with cura

Tanooki2022

Posted · I can't make clean holes when slicing with cura

Hopefully someone can help me.

I use tinkercad . I'm a newbie 🙂

I made a simple round base empty inside with 2 small holes (one hole is round and one hole is rectangular).

I can see them in cura but when i slice it, it put's a wall behind the holes. So much for making a hole :0)

I must be missing a setting somewhere. I've looked online and haven't found anything to help with this issue. Your help is greatly appreciated!

See attached pics.

What cura shows/slice  prints exactly the same!

IMG_20220226_132621.jpg

IMG_20220226_132643.jpg

round base with 2 holes.PNG

view of the holes.PNG

Look in your cad model tree if there are any surfaces left after you cut the holes.

Delete those and export STL again. 

Seen this before causing same issues but from other cad

Something is strange.  Do you have infill turned off?  Is this spiralize mode?  Maybe you should post your project file (do "file" and then "save project as" or something like that.  Then post the result which will include all your settings and your model(s).

Well I can't explain it for some reason this morning it worked . WOOHOO!!!

I used the exact same settings and same file. I just reslice it now and it's fine.

Thank you for trying to help out!

I'm not sure do I need to delete this post ?

On 2/26/2022 at 8:29 PM, AndersK said:

Look in your cad model tree if there are any surfaces left after you cut the holes.

Delete those and export STL again. 

Seen this before causing same issues but from other cad

So I tried a simple box with 1 hole or 2 holes and I get the same result it outlines the back of the hole.

I use tinkercad. I'm not sure how I can look at the cad model tree. Please explain further.

Is there a dept. preference when you make a hole or can it be any dept?

in Cura i do see the outline of the holes inside the box. fill is UNchecked.