Jump to content

Setting in one profile messing up setting in another profile


Mechatron127

Recommended Posts

Posted · Setting in one profile messing up setting in another profile

Hi,

 

For my 3D slicing I use only Cura.

 

I have noticed that if I create a couple of profiles and I make changes to profile A and then go to profile B I mess up profile B with changes intended for profile A only.

 

Is there a way to stop this? It's completely unexpected as I don't grasp the logic in this approach and I have lost more than 1 good profiles so far. People forget to save prior to changing profiles so you will either lose the settings in the current profile or mess up the one you are activating.

 

Or is there something I completely miss?

 

 

 

  • Link to post
    Share on other sites

    Posted · Setting in one profile messing up setting in another profile

    You have "unsaved" changes and "saved" changes. By default, if you have unsaved changes and switch a profile, Cura asks you what you want to do; Either keep the unsaved changes or discard them.

     

    There is also a preference that you can set where it won't ask you every time you do this, but pick either of these two options. I assume that that is what you set. If you want to change that behavior, you can find it in preferences (general page)

  • Link to post
    Share on other sites

    Posted (edited) · Setting in one profile messing up setting in another profile

    Hi,

     

    Maybe I don't understand it yet but if you forget to save the changes to the current profile and switch to another you have lost the changes for the current profile, you then only have the option to save the changes to the profile you want to enter. 

     

    I expect to get the option to save the changes to the profile the changes were made in, the option to save it to the profile to be opened for me is of no use. I want to do that manually, if needed, as that gives more control over the changes.

     

    I have not discovered the logic in this and thus I still mess up more than once switching profiles which is a real pain. 

     

    I have for example printed a couple of plastic bearings to tune the horizontal expansion on the in and outside. Now I have lost the values for that and can start over again.

     

     

    Edited by Mechatron127
  • Link to post
    Share on other sites

    Posted · Setting in one profile messing up setting in another profile

    I really don't understand what you mean, sorry.

     

    Could you write out, step by step, what you do. Then write out, step by step what happens and then (step by step) what you think should happen.

  • Link to post
    Share on other sites

    Posted · Setting in one profile messing up setting in another profile

    Good morning!

    Please Help!  I'm having the same (or a similar) problem with my profiles.  I'm new to 3D printing and have searched countless YouTube videos and websites to find this answer but to no avail.

    I have tried to tweak a profile but when I switch to another profile it asks me to keep or discard changes.  When I choose to keep changes and switch to a different profile, those changes have also changed the second profile. 

    For example:

    I change the Standard print quality profile Material Printer setting to 205 (from 200).  I then click on the Low Quality profile and notice that it's printer temperature has also changed to 205 from 200, which is what I don't want.  When I click from profile to profile it continues to ask me if I want to keep or discard changes.  If I keep them, it changes all profiles.

    To try to alleviate this, I changed the setting to Keep and Never Ask Me Again.  However, this doesn't fix the issue.  When I change the temperature setting in one profile it changes all of them.  

    How can I tweak one profile without changing the settings in another profile.

     

    Thank you for any help I your can provide.

  • Link to post
    Share on other sites

    Posted · Setting in one profile messing up setting in another profile
    17 hours ago, bdaustin55 said:

    I have tried to tweak a profile but when I switch to another profile it asks me to keep or discard changes.

    That means you have not "stored" the changes you made into a profile. So you have changes, but you have not saved them.

     

    By choosing to "keep" your changes when switching to another profile, these are carried over to that other profile. Either store the changes you made in the profile you made the changes to, or discard the changes,

  • Link to post
    Share on other sites

    Create an account or sign in to comment

    You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

    Create an account

    Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

    Register a new account

    Sign in

    Already have an account? Sign in here.

    Sign In Now
    • Our picks

      • UltiMaker Cura 5.7 stable released
        Cura 5.7 is here and it brings a handy new workflow improvement when using Thingiverse and Cura together, as well as additional capabilities for Method series printers, and a powerful way of sharing print settings using new printer-agnostic project files! Read on to find out about all of these improvements and more. 
         
        • 7 replies
      • S-Line Firmware 8.3.0 was released Nov. 20th on the "Latest" firmware branch.
        (Sorry, was out of office when this released)

        This update is for...
        All UltiMaker S series  
        New features
         
        Temperature status. During print preparation, the temperatures of the print cores and build plate will be shown on the display. This gives a better indication of the progress and remaining wait time. Save log files in paused state. It is now possible to save the printer's log files to USB if the currently active print job is paused. Previously, the Dump logs to USB option was only enabled if the printer was in idle state. Confirm print removal via Digital Factory. If the printer is connected to the Digital Factory, it is now possible to confirm the removal of a previous print job via the Digital Factory interface. This is useful in situations where the build plate is clear, but the operator forgot to select Confirm removal on the printer’s display. Visit this page for more information about this feature.
        • 0 replies
    ×
    ×
    • Create New...