STL format surprisingly simple

donmilne

Posted · STL format surprisingly simple

I'm a total noob to 3D printing and I must admit that I had no idea that Cura is only used for printing 3D models, not for creating them.

So, having learned my mistake I've been having a look at what 3D model creation software is available for a reasonable price - ideally try for free - that isn't too complicated. (Recommendations welcome). Frankly I'm so far finding that software seems to fall into two categories: either bug ridden garbage, or very flashy but intimidatingly complex.

Interestingly, I had a look at the STL format itself and discovered that it's very easy to understand. I'm a C programmer myself and it so happens I did a lot of 3D graphics calculation work back in the 90's, so the purpose of everything in the STL file is very clear to me - I reckon I could "roll my own" STLs far more easily than learning how to get a complex 3D CAD package to do it for me.

However, the implications of such a simple 3D format (that Cura seems to use by default) then occurred to me. First, everything is made out of facets - no true curves. Doesn't this make a nonsense of high printer resolutions? Also, the facets will let you distinguish between "inside" and "outside" of an object, but not vary the density (fill factor?) of parts of the inside. This scuppers a plan I had in mind for my printer, which was to make custom enclosures for certain electronics projects, with strengthened lugs where (say) the enclosure is to be bolted down. Of course I can still make the whole thing at the higher density, I guess that's the cost of simplicity. Maybe the tweakatz plugin would be useful for this in some projects too.

Anyway, I'm curious: is this simplicity just because STL is old and predates 3D printing, or are other 3D object description languages equally limited?

So much!

Welcome.