Printing Accuracy

douglaskeene

Posted · Printing Accuracy

Hello I am relatively new to 3d print but i am using Cura to slice my models from sketchup to print on my new anycubic mega x printer. I am trying to print smaller objects of higher precision to coincide with real-world parts, so I am most concerned with settings that will make my 3d output as close to the original sketchup as possible.

In my first example, i am printing a 26.0 mm disc with an inset disk at 22mm. Once printed, the outer is 26.0 and the inner is at 21.4mm measured with digital micrometer. THere are many settings which might effect this, should I adjust inner hole expansion with a negative value? I really am most concerned with getting output that approximates the sketchup dimensions.

I don't expect it to be perfect, due to warping, shrinkage, expansion, etc., but just to get as close as reasonably possible so that real world parts will mate with what I print!

Thank you

Dougsnap188.thumb.jpg.79f7a5b82eabb8c2a3178ec4d90df1e5.jpg

snap189.png

• 3 weeks later...

Hi Doug,

I am having exactly the same problem, I am printing a housing for an electric motor. It is essentially a 30x30x45mm block with a cylinder hole with a diameter of 25mm. The print has exactly the correct outer dimensions but the inner cylinder comes out as 24.3mm. The STL file, upon inspection indeed shows 25mm diameter, so it is a slicing or printer settings problem.

I have noticed this as well with other cutouts for panel meters, when I measure the size and use that in whatever 3D modeling package, the printed cutout is too small en I have to experimentally adjust until it fits. 

I do not understand whether this is a cura of printer settings feature. A friend who is printing the same STL files with PrusaSlicer and Prusa does not suffer from this feature, the models come out as per the dimensions in the STL file.