Newbie questions on cleaning prints

adam-mcmahon

Posted · Newbie questions on cleaning prints

Wanted to start out by saying that I am still in the research phase of 3D printing. I've been wanting a 3d printer for some time, just haven't figured out what to get. I am a professional 3D artist by trade, and part of making the decision for me is final print quality. My initial thought was to get the Form 1 by Formlabs. Of all the 3d printers I've seen, it has the cleanest and highest quality prints with no touch up. Caveat is it's expensive and has limited sized prints. Then it came down to Ultimaker 2 and Replicator 2. I've seen enough and read enough to prefer the Ultimaker over the Replicator. Caveat being it's made in another country. A little more downtime for part replacement or any issues I might have.

If I go with the Ultimaker, how difficult is it to clean and polish the print? I plan to print busts and figures. Is sanding the best method or are there alternative methods that retain detail and require less work?

I apologize if this has been covered, I didn't find anything via search but I might have just used poor search strings. I appreciate any info you guys can give me.

I had exactly the same thoughts as you Adam reference the Form1 and the SLS quality etc. Ive bit the bullet though and ordered my Ultimaker yesterday :) Good luck with your choice!

What sort of figures/busts do you work on ?

Hey Skint,

I do computer graphics for games. I want to print some of my work as I am also an avid statue collector. So adding my own work to my collection would be really cool. There are a couple of samples of my work in my gallery. For some reason it's not letting me upload more images right now. Not sure why.

FulgrimGunslinger HeadOctomanYeti FinalCompositeTerrach Sm

Never tried it myself, but found this article:

http://www.3dprinterclassifieds.com/blog/2013/02/using-acetone-vapor-to-smooth-abs-3d-printed-parts/