End of an Era.....

Link

Posted · End of an Era.....

I have been exclusively using UM printers for 8 or so years, (2, 2+, S5), over the last few years the lack of innovation was starting to grind along with the sustained price gap between them and everything else. Paying £350 for a hardened print core is crazy but something i just tolerated.

Anyway, i finally gave in and ordered a Bambu X1C to see what the hype was about, to say they have moved the game on is a understatement.
It's release is comparable to when apple released the iPhone onto the mobile industry. Forget the crazy speed for a second as i am a hobbyist and speed was always secondary for me over quality - the actual print quality this thing can achieve is next level, zero layer inconsistencies, much better seam hiding, perfect first layers, 1.75mm filament etc etc, prints look better on this at 0.2mm than i could get at 0.1 on the S5. Add to which the mobile app, the UI on the printer, flex plates. I wont even talk about how good the multi-material solution is and costs the same as 1 hardened print core for the S5 !. The one area the X1C misses out on is the build volume is slightly smaller but i can live with that.

This isn't about rubbishing UM, i was a loyal customer for years and piled money into the solution, more a sad farewell as i sold my S5. Maybe UM will pivot, innovate on their solution and align better on pricing.....  - i hope so as they led the way for a time and i was really happy with my S5 overall.

• Like 1

i can only support this at the moment. we still have our ultimakers running, but have currently put the purchase of new ultimakers on hold. 

we started testing 4 of the bambu printers and even though they have their quirks, the print results are very good indeed. 
With the first larger test objects from petg, the bambu printers are faster and cleaner in the print image.