ultimaker original,ready but not able - solved

@mannetje

Posted · ultimaker original,ready but not able - solved

Hi all,

Fitst of all, I'm happy to be part of the Ultimaker community. Looking forward to learn and share a lot.

Last weekend I spend 8 hours building my Ultimaker Original. Great fun and not as difficult as I feared. At the end of the evening everything seemed to work fine. The next day however, it turned out that the prints that are made are strangely tall. In other words x and y seem to print correctly, but the z seems to big. Prints become very tall. The Ultimaker Robot was aprox. 5 times higher than expected...

Since I'm an absolute beginner in the field I've no idea where to start solvind the problem and any ideas would be very much appreciated.

Have a great evening,

Maarten

Very strange! Probably 4X taller? Check the jumpers for the Z driver. You can see them in the assembly instructions picture. If the jumper is touching only one pin then it is equivalent to being removed as it isn't conducting:

z jumper placement for UM original

Click the above photo to zoom. Then you can zoom in more by right clicking and do "show image". Then you can zoom in more by clicking it a third time.

The circled jumper in the above photo should be the only Z jumper not installed (or installed only touching one pin). Also I think to the right it might tell you the setting based on which jumpers are installed.

I'm guessing the jumper setting on the driver for the Z-axis is not set correctly.

From http://wiki.ultimaker.com/Electronics_build_guide

"Check if all jumpers are in the 'closed' position on the MS1,2,3 inputs on the PCB. There is one exception, the Z-axis will be configured to 1/8th step, by not connecting the third jumper below this stepper motor driver. So: MS3 of Z should be open."

I tend to get wrong advice so others might weight in on this...