Ultimaker Community of 3D Printing Experts
Sign in to follow this  
ryhart18

Messy Layers

Hi all,

I recently received my Ultimaker 2, I'm new to 3D printing. I have been printing many objects lately. I have printed around 40 of one particular object using red PLA.

The settings I was using was high quality in Cura. By using Tune I was setting the temp to 230, buildplate to 65 speed to 95%, flow to 110% and fans on 100%. I was getting fantastic results. Until now.

For some strange reason I can no longer print using these settings. The layers were messing up. I first thought this was a levelling issue, so I re-calibrated the buildplate and tried again. No luck. I read on a post to lower temp to 210 and buildplate to 55-60. This did help, until the second go. It messed up again.

I cannot seem to understand what has changed in my setup. I will post a picture to help understand my issue.

Picture: http://tinypic.com/view.php?pic=2ahz61d&s=8#.VDwp-NR4rmE

Thank you.

I assume we're talking about underextrusion - though I can't see it clearly in that picture.

The two possibilities that spring to mind are (a) deformation of the teflon spacer, (b ) getting towards the latter end of a reel (tighter coil == more drag in bowden tube).

I have the same problem. I decided to open up Expert Settings after having several failed attempts to print standard objects in greater detail. I was using High Res in the basic menu and the results were nowhere near high quality. Each subsequent print of the same object yielded different results. So I opened up Expert Settings...Wrong thing to do!