Ultimaker+ vs Ultimaker 2

printerfan

Posted · Ultimaker+ vs Ultimaker 2

I am new to 3d printing and am ready to commit to buying a 3d printer. I am a student interested in designing prototypes including things with functional moving parts (i.e. gears). I am open to all suggestions, but I am currently stuck between deciding between an Ultimaker+ and an Ultimaker 2. I've found posts that discuss the changes between the Original Ultimaker and the Ulimaker 2, but it seems the Ultimaker+ has adopted many of the advancements/upgrades seen in the Ultimaker 2 albiet $1000 cheaper.

Can anyone explain the difference between the Ultimaker+ and the Ultimaker 2? Does the either model come in a DIY kit for cheaper?

UMO+ is kit only. UM2 is assembled only.

Some people think UM2 is more beautiful. Much more beautiful.

UMO seems to get features sooner than the UM2. For example you can get dual extrusion on UMO now, UM2 is "promised" 2015Q1.

UM2 has slightly larger build volume.

They both have excellent print quality. Now that UMO has heated, metal bed that is no longer the main difference. The only remaining difference is the homing. The homing for UM2 is better. It homes at the bottom with the bed all the way down. UMO homes all the way up which means any filament leaking out of the nozzle gets squished against the glass plate. It's really not a big deal. The lights on the UM2 are also nice - they light up the print area so well that people use it as a light box. I kind of mini photo studio.

So if you aren't afraid to assemble the thing and you are willing to spend 20 hours doing it and you don't need the "prettiest printer" possible that looks good in your immaculate fancy home. Then go for the UMO+.

The other advantage of the UMO is that nozzles are only $5 on ebay and you can get different nozzle hole diameters. Larger diameter for woodfill filament (it gets clogged easily in .4mm nozzle) and also for large prints you want to print fast.