Finished assembly, but delrin clip broke..... will affect printing?

jin1219ca

Posted · Finished assembly, but delrin clip broke..... will affect printing?

Hi,

I finished the assembly yesterday and headed into test run directly. So I tried to fill the filament into the feeder and this is my First time! I put the filament in the tube and spin the gear to reel it in. But the cap nut then fell off. So I thought the hobbed bolt should go deeper to the cap nut.

When it went deeper to the cap nut, the neck of the hobbed bolt kind of disappear and it became difficult for the delrin clip to hook on it. I put too much force and the clip just broke.

Without the delrin clip, I continued test run but the outcomes are bad. The material doesn't feed well that in the middle of printing the material just didn't come out for about 10 layers and then the material came out later.

1. Can I know if this is because I didn't use the delrin clip? or other problems cause it?

2. Also got a question here for the hobbed bolt, do I need to insert it into the nut all the way, or just insert it in middle? but if in the middle, the cap nut will fall out easily while feeding?

3. Can I know if the drawing of the delrin clip is available? Thought I can make one with my UMO+ but can't find it.

Thanks.

Matt

Please post pictures. Your words don't make it clear to me and I'm too lazy to read your words and look at my machine or assembly instructions if you are too lazy to post pictures.

I broke the same delrin clip on my UMO. To make a new clip I took a sheet of plastic that was the same thickness and drilled, sawed it to the same shape. It works great. I don't remember where I got the plastic - it was from some old electronics thing or maybe something in the recycling bin.

Hi, i am just finished with building my um+, I don't understand where I should put this delrin clip.

Can someone send me a picture? Maybe this is my problem because my first print of the robot came out as weird square!