Problems with first 3D print

kissandra79

Posted · Problems with first 3D print

This is my first time assembling an Ultimaker. I am very very new to all this. Never 3D printed a thing in my life before. It's just the excitement that got me this far. Could someone please tell me what I'm doing wrong? I do not understand the combination of factors that lead to a good print. Any information in the right direction is very much appreciated.

I tried to print a small giraffe. This is the STL of what I am trying to print.

Giraffe1_thumb_large.jpg.

I stopped the print in 5 minutes because this is what I got...

EqG5N.jpg

Here are some facts

• [*:tbbn5anj]I am using Cura version 12.07
    [*:tbbn5anj]I am using PLA plastic
    [*:tbbn5anj]The temperature of the hot end is set at 255*C
    [*:tbbn5anj]The XY speed is 3000 mm/min and the Z speed is 200
    [*:tbbn5anj]The extrude rate is 5mm

Here is a screenshot of the printrun application along with the values that were used in the failed print attempt

4arar.png

These are the problems I am having

• [*:tbbn5anj]The molten plastic at the hot end comes out intermittently. If I manually try to extrude the plastic it seems like it works. But when the extruder drive takes over..the molten plastic does not come out at the hot end.
    [*:tbbn5anj]There is a lot of stringing
    [*:tbbn5anj]When I push the PLA plastic manually with my hands, the hot end seems to give out molten plastic.. but when I let the extruder driver take over, the hot end does not give out any molten plastic..

Maybe you need to adjust the tension screw on the filament drive. Since you say that you can push filament manually without problem but the plastic only comes out intermittently when printing it might be that the filament is slipping in the drive. If you look at the filament that has been pushed in by the machine, does it have visible "bite marks" from the drive screw? There should be clearly visible marks.