Material stops flowing 20 mins in

Posted · Material stops flowing 20 mins in

Hi everyone

Having a major issue with a new UM2 (I am new to 3d printing). I've mad a few "successful" (but poor quality prints) and results seem to have been getting worse.

I'm using grey PLA which came with it, with settings:

1. 220 Temp
  2. 45 Bed with glue
  3. ~30-50 speed
  4. 1.2 shell thickness
  5. 0.12 layer height
  6. 12% densisty

The model I'm printing is: http://cl.ly/413q0J24332M I have no issues with it sticking to the bed with the above settings.

Around 20 mins in, I notice the flow just stops and the printer continues merrily along without printing anything so I have to abort.

I've already tried changing nozzles, cleaning the 2nd nozzle with the atomic technique (its clear - I can see through it), tweaking the extruder bolt.

Is the machine faulty?

I can't see the model other than the file, does it have a lot of retractions?

For PLA I would try 205'C to 210'C, I would also check that all the various screws are nipped up tight. Also check the pressure on your feeder, if the pressure is too high, during a lot of extractions, the filament can get squashed which then will get stuck as it reaches the coupler before entering the nozzle. To check, heat the nozzle to about 200 and then manually pull back the filament, have a look at the shape of the filament near the end. If it is squashed adjust the feeder to reduce the pressure, I would then recommend printing off Roberts improved feeder it's the bees knees, much easier to set up a nice pressure and swap filaments. I've also done a few little bits to help add to Roberts feeder.

Have you checked the third fan? The tiny fan that is at the back of the print head. Depending on how new your printer is, this fan will either turn on immediately when the printer is turned on, or as soon as the temperature goes over 40C.

Posted (edited) · Material stops flowing 20 mins in

Hey there MuffinK-