Printer Head doesn't align over build plate plus x and y axis error

Freaky_C

Posted · Printer Head doesn't align over build plate plus x and y axis error

I'm no expert and don't have the proper verbage with this technology, but here I go:

Ultimaker 2 go printed fine 2 times since receiving it a couple days ago. Then the third small print came out leaning, which on the fourth print, it came up with "x or y axis is broken error contact support". Then when restarting it appeared to work; however, it didn't align over the build plate like it initially did when adjusting the height with sliding the paper and all. Instead, it moved over about an inch from the left corner of the build plate. I adjusted the head to the mm, then it moved to about an inch off the left front corner. SInce I couldn't adjust that, I clicked continue and it moved to the right to about center front (somewhere near there).

I did a factory reset and it did the same. I've turned it off and back on and it goes back to the x or y error.

What now? I've looked up these issues, but have no clue what to even attempt.

You probably have a set screw loose. Most likely the one directly on the pulley on the stepper motor shaft. Unfortunately that means you'll have to unmount the stepper motor in order to get to the screw. I would go through each and every pulley and tighten the set screws on them since this seems to be an issue lately.

Posted (edited) · Printer Head doesn't align over build plate plus x and y axis error

Thanks for the quick response.  I opened up the printer, taking off the side panel.  When attempting to tighten the set screw on the stepper motor shaft (clockwise), it's already tight.  The stepper motor was already mounted low on the side panel.  Is there something I'm missing?  By chance, are there any links with video showing this being done?

Edited by Guest

Posted (edited) · Printer Head doesn't align over build plate plus x and y axis error