Help a newbie print with HIPS

Tobus

Posted · Help a newbie print with HIPS

I have been using my Ultimaker 2 Extended for a couple of months now, printing only with PLA, and I'm not overly knowledgeable on using custom materials or settings.  I just use the settings that are in the machine by choosing PLA as the material when I load the filament.

I purchased a spool of HIPS that I want to try out, but I'm uncertain how I tell the machine what temperature to set on the extruder and heated bed.  There isn't a HIPS option when I load the material.  From what I read, the older machines would control this through Cura but the UM2 series is controlled by the firmware.  Is there a firmware update that has additional material options?  Or is there a process for adding new material settings/options into the firmware?

Or, is this something I set in Cura when I'm doing my slicing operation (I just downloaded Cura 15.06.03), and it will override the default PLA settings?  If so, do I just choose PLA on the machine when I load the HIPS filament, and hope that the Gcode settings from Cura will do the trick?

Sorry if the question seems overly newbie-ish.  This is all very confusing to a new user, and the documentation doesn't do much in the way of explaining how to do anything beyond the basics.

I've never used hips but I hear it's quite difficult to work with. It wil clog your nozzle if you don't keep it moving constantly. You don't want it to stay hot for more than a small number of seconds: 10? 20? I would avoid it. Did you buy limonene to disolve it if you get a clog in the nozzle?

Hips is a great material but PLA is much nicer in most ways. HIPS is now very popular as a dissolvable support structure. But you would need dual nozzles and you would have to be very careful about not letting it stay hot for too long.

Maybe someone else on the forum has used it.