Pattern seen on sides of cylinder

onelarryb

Posted · Pattern seen on sides of cylinder

I am a beginner, having great success with the Ultimaker 2 but need help understanding something. There is a pattern showing up on my models. I am printing a model 1.2” D with offset hole inside 0.75” D, 0.53” tall and hole on side. Best appearance is obtained at defaults. All models regardless of location printed on base plate and rotation of the model have an offset pattern half way up. Pattern is evident on opposite sides (inset on one-outset on the other) and happens at the same physical location for the printer even when the model is rotated 90 degrees . I changed temp and speed which degraded the print but did not change the pattern. What is happening and is there anything I can do to obtain smooth sides on the cylinder? I have pictures but can't figure out how to attach them.

Thanks in advance for any help.

To upload a picture you click on the second icon from the right above the area you're typing your text in. Switch tabs to "Upload image" and the rest should be fairly straight forward.

I think a picture is needed before making any real suggestions.

Could be a few things but I'm going to start with backlash and check some things.

Does the pattern:

1) Stick out on the far side also?

2) or is the whole part shifted in one direction (left and towards camera) such the far side center band move *inwards* towards the center of the part?

If #2 then it's backlash - something is loose or too tight. I'll tell you more after I hear your answer. If it's #1 it's probably over or underextrusion caused by speed changes at the hole - to verify slow it way the hell down - try 25mm/sec. Report back.