Having trouble with any print longer than 4h (Ultimaker 2 Extended)

Posted (edited) · Having trouble with any print longer than 4h (Ultimaker 2 Extended)

Hi there

As title suggest, was able to print small size objects but any time print has to last longer than 4-5h, or less, otherwisei am to expect some kind of problems. I'm a beginner and am using the regular setups, and i printed mostly with PLA so far.  I have to say that the printer has been unused for months at times, i wonder if that's the problem. I also would like to know if ABS may be more reliable for long prints. I know Ultimaker 2 is a very good machine so i think i am missing something, or maybe having an issue with my device (which should be still in warranty).  In general i 'd like to print items as big as possible (thats why i bught the U2E) so i can consider upgrading to the latest version, but i need to know exactly what i am doing first.

Thanks in advance for any help.

Edited by Guest

Posted · Having trouble with any print longer than 4h (Ultimaker 2 Extended)

What is the trouble you are seeing exactly? It's difficult to give advice without knowing what's actually going wrong. If you have pictures that is even better.

Letting the machine sit unused is not a problem. If it's humid where the machine is and you still have filament loaded, the filament might have absorbed moisture and become difficult to print with.

I would not recommend ABS, it's a finicky material to use IMHO. Some people love it, but I would say that the majority that use it have issues because it needs special care.

Posted (edited) · Having trouble with any print longer than 4h (Ultimaker 2 Extended)