[UM2] [UM2+] - Reduce plate vibration

Posted (edited) · [UM2] [UM2+] - Reduce plate vibration

Hi,

Let me preface this by stating that I'm not an engineer, probably a dumb dude and very new to the 3D printing world.

I witnessed quite a lot of vibrations on the build plate of my Ultimaker 2+ and I think that it has a detrimental effect on the quality output.

I was wondering if we could put two small steel bars as an attempt to rigidify the whole plate and limit those vibrations.

I checked with my local hardware store and they supply flat bars of 35mm wide and 6mm thickness.

Here is a quick model I did, based on the source files of the plate shared on Github (thanks btw :->;).

plate_capture1.thumb.PNG.0d0bb973f5fd6d45ac71ceb2971f3157.PNG

plate_capture2.thumb.PNG.c4ebf66985493479ad25f83f8f49638b.PNG

I calculated that each of those bars weight ~500g, so I would be adding more or less 1kg to the current plate.

A quick check with a 1kg spool filament showed me that the motor seems to lift the plate pretty well, not sure if the Z-accuracy is conserved though.

Do you think that adding those bars would help with the vibrations ?

Thanks for your help ! :)

plate_capture1.thumb.PNG.0d0bb973f5fd6d45ac71ceb2971f3157.PNG

plate_capture2.thumb.PNG.c4ebf66985493479ad25f83f8f49638b.PNG

Edited by Guest

Posted · [UM2] [UM2+] - Reduce plate vibration

Looks good, any chance to use the existing holes to clamp it so there's no need to take everything out? Yea it would need to disassemble the bed, but if there's no need to drill the plate it might be easier to install (and less problems while doing it).

Here how the current plate looks like.

plate_capture3.thumb.PNG.3f53556b42905c055d763b048c24d689.PNG

As you can see, there is a single hole that we could use.

Currently, there is nothing using that hole, at least on my model.

I'm not sure that this single hole would suffice to clamp the steel bar really tight, and I agree that it would ease a lot the overall project.