bad quality of bottom and top layer

basteluwe

Posted · bad quality of bottom and top layer

Hi guys,

I'm new to 3D printing and still do a lot of trial & error. However slowly my results get better.

This little plug came out quite OK, when looking at it from the side.

01.thumb.jpg.48e3045f3e36334bc43ee953767d66ec.jpg

Problem is the bottom and top-layers. Bottom (feels very smooth, but looks bad):

02.thumb.jpg.d10e927c86dba4c57655aff444089ede.jpg

Top (does not feel to smooth looks bad too):

03.thumb.jpg.b69e362bb4b88388ba6072a6e1eed9f4.jpg

I'm printing with UO+ and Cura. Material is PLA (Ultimaker) siver metallic. Layerhight 0.1mm, bed: 60°C, nozzle: 210°C.

What can(should) I do, to get a better bottom & top surface?

01.thumb.jpg.48e3045f3e36334bc43ee953767d66ec.jpg

02.thumb.jpg.d10e927c86dba4c57655aff444089ede.jpg

03.thumb.jpg.b69e362bb4b88388ba6072a6e1eed9f4.jpg

Hi @Basteluwe,

Thank you for your post and welcome to the forums.

There is absolutely nothing wrong with learning through trial and error. That is what we have all done, and failure is a great teacher!

But luckily you can also rely on the forums to help :)

The side of your knob definitely looks great!

For the bottom I could suggest to level your bed a little bit higher so your first layer is really squeezed on the bed. That should help in getting that flat, smooth first layer with excellent adhesion.

About the top layer, would you say your knob is perfectly round? From the last photo it looks like it may not be... (maybe that is just the photo..)

How fast do you print?

To be sure, can you check how tight your small belts are?

Thanks, looking forward hearing from you!

Check this guide for circles, not round

http://support.3dverkstan.se/article/23-a-visual-ultimaker-troubleshooting-guide#circles

As @sandervg says, 99% of the time, is a belt tension issue.