Ultimaker Community of 3D Printing Experts
eivind

Controlling the Ultimaker / SDK

Hi,

We are wondering if its possible to use the ultimaker for something else than 3D printing. We would like to use it to do some accurate measurements. Basically we need to be able to program the nozzle to go to specific positions in an orchestrated way, just movement without any 3D printing at all.

Is there some software available that lets us set the position of the nozzle in 3D space or to play back a series of movements? Like a print dryrun with the only difference is that the nozzle should move slower.

I'm new to this so any information pointing me in the right direction is appreciated.

E.

Read about gcodes.  Those are what control the printer.  You can convert a set of coordinates to gcodes trivially.  For example:

G28 X0 Y0

G28 Z0

The above you do first to home the x,y,z axes.

Then

G1 X10 Y10 Z110  <-- moves all 3 axis to position 10mm.

G1 F600  <-- sets feedrate quite slow (movement speed for all axes combined) in mm/minute

So 600 is 10mm/sec.  You can go up to 300mm/sec and down to i-don't-know-what.  Probably around 1mm/sec?  Maybe slower.

These gcodes work for (almost) any 3d printer out there.

more here:

http://reprap.org/wiki/G-code

Thank for replies guys.

Two quick follow up questions:

1. With the G-codes, does it need to print at all to move or can it just be told to move and it will do so?

2. Does the printing nozzle even need to be present for it to move or can i remove it and replace it with our own non printing nozzle that is made for measurements?

If the UM2+ is super easy to control via serial port that seems to be the right choice for us. How do you do the same on the UM3+?

E.

1. It can move, or move while extruding.