Trouble with 0.15 mm nozzle

Nick__Mad

Posted (edited) · Trouble with 0.15 mm nozzle

Hello, everyone.

I am very new to 3D printing and I only recently got a UM2 Extended +.

I had it for about half a year and I'm gradually learning how to operate it.

I tried a lot of different materials and nozzles so far and I ran into a bit of a problem when I bought E3D's experimental 0.15 nozzle.

E3D's 0.15 page

E3D didn't really provide a detailed explanation on how to configure Cura to such a nozzle. They did list a few settings but then again they say to "set the nozzle settings to 0.15" which Cura simply doesn't have an option for. They also mention that they set the retraction settings to "1mm at 30mm/s" which is a bit confusing too because I looked into Cura's settings and wasn't able to find any settings I can alter related to retraction.

After playing with the settings for a day and searching for any sort of reviews/tutorials on the web and the only thing I was able to find related to this topic is this thread

Here is the forum thread itself

where Ghostkeeper suggests to dig into Cura's cfg files and add a new profile by duplicating and editing an existing one.

I tried doing that and couldn't get any results. When I started digging through the cfg files I got even more confused because I have no idea what the values in those files mean and I was unsure what kind of results it would give me.

I once clogged my Olsson block with plastic due to my incompetence and quite honestly I don't want to get myself into that kind of situation again.

Can anyone give me some pointers with this? This is very confusing.

(i did contact E3D as well but wanted to get some extra opinions while they take their time to respond)

Edited by Guest

Posted · Trouble with 0.15 mm nozzle