Printer powers off and reboot when heated bed is set below 60°c

chrisvp

Posted (edited) · Printer powers off and reboot when heated bed is set below 60°c

When I make a print with the heated bed set at 60°C, everything runs fine.

When I change the temp of the Heated Bed within Cura 3.x to another value like 50°, then the Printer starts, switches off and does a reboot during printing the first line of the Brim of het Object I'm printing.

Starting a Print with initial temp of Heated Bed to 60°C and then after the first layer to 40°C then this occurs the moment he goes from 40 to 39, a few layers later.( Cooldown)

I've thought maybe it is a Power Supply issue but when setting the Heated Bed to 60°C again everything prints fine.

Can Somebody explain this behavior?

I've never tried before another temp on the Heated Bed then 60°C.

I'm now running the latest Cura 3.1 without FW upgrade because I Have the UMO.

Edited by Guest

Posted · Printer powers off and reboot when heated bed is set below 60°c

The resistance of the bed increases with higher temperature which means it is lower wattage the hotter it gets. When the print starts it suddenly draws much more power for the 4 steppers.

I'm guessing your power supply just can't quite handle the nozzle, bed, and steppers all at the same time. When the bed is a bit warmer it draws less current so everything can be on at the same time for a few seconds without losing power briefly.

The brick power supply has this feature where it shuts off very briefly but then it's too late and the printer reboots.

The um3 has newer firmware that is more aware of the varying wattage of the bed and does better power management. But his is a UMO?

In Configuration.h I think you can limit the power to the bed. You can set it to 0 through 255 where 255 is the highest power. This feature does not work in "bang bang" mode which I think is default. I strongly do not recommend bang-bang mode as it causes all kinds of other issues also.