Cura adding "floor layer" to my print

Posted · Cura adding "floor layer" to my print

Help!  I have been modeling a greenhouse for my model railroad.  I am using SketchUp.  I have had no problems using Cura until today.  Now when I import the file, it is adding a "floor" to the thing!  It looks like a shadow.  If I "lift" the model, or otherwise manipulate it, the shadow stays, and the model is CLEARLY "floorless."

Any ideas???  I am pulling my hair out!

cura problem.jpg

Still no luck in fixing.  Adding new photo that shows how it is showing this shadow.  It is so frustrating!  Any help GREATLY appreciated!  I am VERY new to this! I received the 3D printer as a surprise Christmas gift from my husband.  Me going crazy is not showing how much I love him!  :)

shadow problem.jpg

More info.  It isn't just a build layer.  It fills the interior up to the "windows' ledges."  But the xray view shows nothing.  I have checked and rechecked the Sketch-up model.  Since i have printed out previous versions with no issue, this is baffling!

layer view.jpg

xray view.jpg

Posted (edited) · Cura adding "floor layer" to my print

Sketchup is notoriously bad for making 3D printable models. Without the model to look at, I cannot tell you what could be wrong. And, since I do not use sketchup, I cannot hazard a guess as to how to solve it.

Edit: BTW, the shadow is the area that the model takes up and helps in placing models within the build area easily. Not hard with a block model, but something with things poking out, it can be difficult to gauge.

Edited by kmanstudios
    bad grammar