minimal wall width part

ripacheco

Posted (edited) · minimal wall width part

Cura 3.2 Macintosh

STL file generated by OnShape

I am a beginner. So forgive me if this is a totally stupid question.

I'm trying to design parts for 3D printing.

I am starting with a simple cylinder with a wall thickness of exactly 0.4mm.

When I attempt to generate g-code in Cura. It ignores most of the wall.

I been trying increasing the thickness of the wall in CAD... if I set the wall thickness to 0.41mm (in CAD) Cura goes around the edge twice!

Naturally there is something that is not correct.

My designs require the walls to be as thin as possible I cannot make the cylinder a solid because eventually it will have structural elements inside.

Using "Print thin walls doesn't seem to help"

Lab01 - 0.40.stl

Lab01 - 0.40 - 06.jpeg

Edited by ripacheco

Posted · minimal wall width part

I deleted your other post - they seemed identical.

As you discovered, yes you can also decrease the nozzle size.  A 0.4 nozzle will typically print just as well (actually maybe better) at 0.35mm line width and will even print decently down to about 0.3mm.

Cura just doesn't do single wall width - it only prints loops.  So it's always going to go over the same spot twice - sorry about that.

There is one trick you can do though - you can model your part for example as a solid cylinder and tell cura to print 0% infill.  You can also disable top and/or bottom infill.  This trick works with slightly more complicated shapes than a cylinder but at some point you have to go back and model the wall thickness in cad (for example if you want holes in your part other than at the top and/or bottom.

• Like 1

Also what kind of printer do you have?  You can go with smaller nozzles.  I sell 0.25mm and 0.15 and even 0.1mm nozzles for many different printer types including all the Ultimaker printers.

9 minutes ago, gr5 said: