Double Thick Infill????

Tone

Posted · Double Thick Infill????

I'm a noob here so perhaps this or something close has already been suggested.

I was thinking for infill that the layer could be printed at double the thickness of the shells and then it would only have to be printed every other wall layer.

Could speed things up a little. The infill doesn't have to be anywhere near the quality of the walls so printing it twice as thick could be just fine.

While I'm thinking about it, maybe the option to print layers at changing thickness would give a different texture like look to the walls. The change might be each layer is a slightly different thickness or it might be that the thickness changes on some linear frequency within the layer. There are obvious limits to how much the thickness could vary and still print.

Anyway, just a couple wild ideas.

I had the same idea 5 years ago but Daid (the guy who first wrote Cura - no longer working on it) pointed out that it's rare for two layers to be exactly the same.  I mean this works great if you are printing cubes but anything really fancy like a cone - now what do you do?  You want the infill to just barely touch the shell on every other layer now?  It gets more complicated and it's 3d and slicers aren't very 3d - they try to do most of the work in 2d.

Changing thickness layers is a feature in cura - it auto detects the slope (like the top of a sphere) and makes more layers there so the steps are smaller and larger layers when things don't change as much from one layer to the next.  It's called "adaptive layers".

• Like 1

I'm working on a post processing script to achieve exactly what you described in the first part of your post. I'm still iterating over the implementation and so far managed to produce ok-ish prints at half the printing time, but have couple issues I need to work out. If you're interested let me know...

• Like 1