sheared objects - not sure if software or hardware

bobbyhugges

Posted · sheared objects - not sure if software or hardware

Hello everyone,

i'm a newbie having assembled my ultimaker 3 days ago,

works really nice, but i have a strange behaviour on some objects :

while the objects from the cura examples or from thingiverse print well, my designs are sheared on the x-axis, for the first layers only.

my workflow is :

blender > stl export > cura > gcode > ulticontroller

here are some picture to describe the problem :

the object designed in blender,

jgpj.png

looks ok in cura,

fvtv.png

is sheared on x- axis when printed :

mm6p.JPG

on this last image, all objects where printed with the same settings.

the cubes where some tests i made in blender, one with subdivision, one with triangles instead of quads, as i thought it was a poly problem,

but it didn't make it

did someone encountered this problem before ?

any help would really be appreciated !

cheers,

Julien

Hi Julien, and welcome!

The problem you are seeing is because the head isn't able to return to the right starting point in the x direction on each layer. There are a couple of usual suspects to check. Firstly, check that your short belt for the x motor isn't rubbing on the wooden frame, or otherwise twisting at all. Then secondly, check that all the pulleys for the x-axis (6 of them!) are really tight, and not slipping. Test using a permanent marker to put a mark on the pulley and on the shaft next to it, and then watch to see if they move relative to one another. There must be no slippage.

I believe that UM may include a spare bag of set screws in case the ones that are in the pulleys are not good enough. If so, and you just can't tighten the existing screws enough, try swapping them out for the alternative ones.