PVA Strings between a print job and a prime tower

coduy

Posted · PVA Strings between a print job and a prime tower

Hi there, a complete newbie here. I am getting some very thin PVA strings between the print and the prime tower, as can be seen the attached picture. 

Strings.thumb.jpg.31a6659a0c60af3d673f3bb96c767a5b.jpg

The material is Ultimaker PVA that comes with the box. I have been doing some investigation and found out that this can be caused by temperature that is set too high or/and print speed. Currently PVA print temperature is  set to 225 C. Print speed is 35 mm/s. First I am planning to lower the temperature (to 215 C), but would like to ask the community first just in case I'm tottally wrong. 

17 hours ago, Brulti said:

Why are you not using the standard setting for PVA which is 215°C?

hi there, I used recommended temperature for PVA. At least in Cura that I have: 225C : PVA Fast Profile,  220C: PVA Normal Profile, 215C PVA Fine Profile. 

So I have been using Fast profile since the beginning. Next time I will lower the temperature to see if this helps. Thanks. 

15 hours ago, tinkergnome said:

mmmh, and why is the prime tower so far away?
    I guess it would be better to place the tower closer to the printed object, this would avoid such long travel paths.

Well, I'm a newbie and haven't toyed with object placement yet, thanks, I will give it a go now. 

13 hours ago, Smithy said:

Or print without a prime tower, should also work as I have learned on another thread.

I read that using prime tower is advisable when using two print cores and when you want to avoid printing quality issues. So I always use  a prime tower when a print job goes with PVA and PLA. Do you think I go over a top with this? What's your opinion on using prime tower? 

2 hours ago, coduy said: