FilaPrint ABS Settings, Ultimaker 2+

SpaceDawg

Posted (edited) · FilaPrint ABS Settings, Ultimaker 2+

Hi All,

Firstly I have been very happy with the Ultimaker filaments.  However, I need to produce a lot of ABS prints at a lower cost therefore I decided to buy some FilaPrint ABS (natural colour).

I've tried it, but the initial layer does not like sticking to the print bed.  So I'm wondering is anyone else has used this material and if so what your settings are.  I will be using a .4MM print head onto Glass with Glue.

If you can help it would be great.

Edited by SpaceDawg
forgot the printer

Posted · FilaPrint ABS Settings, Ultimaker 2+

I have no experience with FilaPrint ABS, but ABS and also PETG generally don't stick very well to my bed only with glue.

So I used for the last prints the UM adhesion sheets, works very well and I recently also bought 3DLac and Dimafix spray which should be also very good. I tested 3DLac with PETG and the adhesion was very good.

Additionally, you have to heat your bed to 90-110° (I assume you do) and you should level your bed very well.

Hi,

Yes I have the enclosure on and now an Avery sheet.  I have just manually set the bed temperature to 110c, looks like its not set in the cura software although the material setup is 110c.  It was only going to 80c.

I am not sure what's the maximum of the UM2+ heated bed, probably not 110, but should be higher than 80.

Sorry, I have no more idea....

Maybe you want to look here:

Change Max heated bed temperature to 120 deg

On 12/19/2016 at 3:07 PM, ultiarjan said:

Think  the answer is yes, you can go higher than 100c, but I never heard anybody doing 120c.

But NO IDEA IF IT'S SAFE, nor any idea what it'll do to the life expectancy of the bed.

I never use higher than 95c (ABS) as even reaching 100c takes ages, even enclosed.