max weight of heated bed

Posted · max weight of heated bed

Hi there

I'm looking for a good material for a heated bed.

Now I wonder about the maximum weight that is good for the Ultimaker. The original build is pretty lightweight, but I found a suitable material which is something above 2 kg heavy.

Will this be a problem for the UM? I don't want to solve a problem and create a new one in the process...

regards

Jonny

Hi,

no heated bed expert all, but they seem to have a day off, so....

As an engineer i'd say, the rotation force for the motor should be no problem.

But I think you might reinforce the wooden plate where the motor is mount on.

And you want to make a separate bearing to take the (axial) load of the motor bearing(s).

Mine is very heavy. 1.4kg and it's fine. I get good Z movement. Better than many people. But I recommend something lighter if possible just so that it doesn't take too long to heat up. You might want to wait for the heated bed upgrade for the UM1. No idea when it will come out though. But the HB for the UM2 heats up almost as fast as the nozzle.

Mine takes 20 minutes. :(

Well, to me it doesn't really matter how long it takes to heat the bed up. What matters to me is the print results that I get. But I guess with the silicone heater it shouldn't be much of an issue, you can put quite a bit of power into these things... :)

I guess I'll just try this out. The bed only costs 30$ (plus 60$ shipping :???:) and if it's too heavy, I can probably find some other use for it (e.g. a nice surface to do soldering work on)

Little update:

I got all the parts now and am ready to try out my new Basalt heated bed from QU-BD.com. It actually is pretty heavy, being a 200x200 mm large and 10mm thick, massive Basalt-glass plate. But I think the UM will cope. If it doesn't, I'll probably add additional support rods on the front of the printer bed...