Sketchup/TinkerCAD - 2020 frame mount hole for box

blkprometheus

Posted · Sketchup/TinkerCAD - 2020 frame mount hole for box

I have a Raspberry Pi 3 that's running Octoprint, which is connected to my Anycubic Kossel Linear Plus.  I found a case on thingiverse that I want to use, https://www.thingiverse.com/thing:1771908, but I want to mount it to the 2020 frame of my printer.  In order to do that I wanted to modify the case stl file to add a mounting hole on either side of the case.  I've attached a picture of what I want the mounting bracket to look like. I'm new to both Sketchup and TinkerCAD, but can anyone recommend how best to do this?  I've done some Googling, but just haven't found anything to help me with doing this yet.

Thanks in advance for your help.

mount bracket.jpg

Here's one way you could do it in TinkerCAD.  The attached images apply to each step.

Upload the .stl file you want to modify into TinkerCAD, then

1. Add a cylinder next to the part and size it as necessary
    2. Add a box as shown and resize it
    3. Shift-select the cylinder and box and group them
    4. Add two cylinder holes as shown
    5. Shift-select the cylinders and the previous shape and group them to create the tab
    6. Add a cylinder hole for the mounting hole
    7. Group the hole and the tab to complete the mounting tab

I hope that helps.  Once you get comfortable using TinkerCAD, you should consider graduating to Fusion 360.  It has a lot more capabilities.  I would avoid using Sketchup because it tends to create non-watertight meshes that will cause trouble in slicing for printing.

Step1.jpg

Step2.jpg

Step3.jpg

Step4.jpg

Step5.jpg

Step6.jpg

Step7.jpg

Hi Rowiac,

Thank you so much for your answer to my question.  It's very easy for me to understand and follow.  Based on your recommendation, I'll definitely give Fusion 360 a try.