What to do about delamination of layers?

tbruggeman

Posted · What to do about delamination of layers?

Hello all,

Currently I'm trying to print a very basic model of a bearing block for my CNC but I'm encountering a problem. I'm still fairly new to 3D printing and I could really use some advice from others.

When I start printing the model everything works fine; good density and layers bond well. For now these kind of results would be sufficient.

IMG 7566

IMG 7568

Unfortunately after a couple of layers it all goes wrong. Adjacent lines do not connect properly anymore (there's a gap in between), new layers do not bond with the older ones and there's a lot of stringing going on.

IMG 7567

IMG 7572

Does anyone know what could be causing this? What should I change to avoid this?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Grtz

Thomas

Thomas!

For you it is probably combination of build speed and temperature..

Next likely is sticky filament, hard for printer to un-spool... Try unwinding a bit...

Can you post settings in CURA, as well as settings in UM2.?

If you print in a cold(er) room.. then the higher levels dont "inherit" the temperature from

the build bed, (assuming you have a heated bed).. and as the higher levels thus are colder because of

this, the new layers don't attach well. You can compensate somewhat for this by increasing extr temp and

lowering speed.

With a heated bed to 60, CURA speed setting of 70mm/s, and UM2 speed setting of 60% (combined speed is then

60 percent out of 70mm/s = 42mm/s, AND higher extrusion temp, try 235, and fan off,

Then we should make it stick.

These settings will incur stringing, which you work at on the next stage by lowering speed and temperature..

Temp can go down to 220-215-210-200, speed down to 50% (in UM2).

Good luck!

heat up your ultimaker 2 and with a tiny.. less than .4mm needle, give the inside of your nozzle a quick clean out..