Leaning prints? - solved

daveholbrook

Posted · Leaning prints? - solved

Hi, I'm pretty new to the 3d printing community only purchasing an Ultimaker 2 within the last week.

I've gone through the set up process and everything was going fine untill I came to produce my first print (ultimaker robot). With each layer that is printed the head seems to move along the y axis, printing the next layer out of position resulting in the print leaning towards to from of the machine.

I've tried several different prints and everyone is the same. I've reset the factory settings and set up from scratch but still the prints are all the same.

Is this a common problem? And is this something I am doing wrong or is there something wrong with my machine?

Thanks.

It could be that there's a pulley or two that is slipping. I would go through all of them and tighten the set screws very firmly. It could be just the pulley on the y-stepper that is causing issues but it doesn't hurt to make sure they are all tight (and it doesn't take much time at all) to make sure everything is solid.

The pulleys are the round cylinders with grooves in them that move the black belts back and forth. On the side of them there's a tiny little screw that lock them in place on the rods. Turn off the power to the printer so it's easier to rotate the screws into a position where you can tighten them.

This is very common with the UM Original which is almost the same design. There are 6 pulleys on the Y axis and the 2 that are most likely the problem are the two on the "short belt" which is the belt that goes to the stepper motor.

Tighten all 6 as tight as possible. Consider marking each pulley and shaft with a tiny dot with a permanent marker so you can see which one is slipping.

Unfortunately one of the 6 pulleys is hard to get to - the one on the motor. You might have to remove the motor to get to it which probably means removing the cover also.