Infill Colliding with other infill lines

mechman29

Posted · Infill Colliding with other infill lines

Hi Everyone!

When I print something that has an infill, the nozzle cuts across the previous infill and collides with it and snaps it. It doesn't lay down a blob, but hits the previous line. I can hear it running into and snapping the previous line. I have watched many videos where infills are perfect, yet mine are all snapping as the nozzle crosses it. What in the heck am I doing wrong? I use Cura, I have a Ender 3 v2. Using PTEG. Bed at 70 and nozzle at 250 (recommended on roll of PTEG).

Can someone help me figure this out? I'm sure it's a Cura issue within my settings. Or, maybe not! HELP! I've included a pic to show you what I am talking about. I'm a noob, so if you need more info, I'll post it asap. 

20210221_175850.jpg

I've seen this before with PLA.  It usually happens when I print too fast.  It can sometimes be improved by over extruding but mostly it's fixed by slowing down.  Try printing the infill at 1/2 or even 1/4 speed you are printing now and see if that helps.  I haven't had this problem with PETG but maybe I print too slow to see this.

• Like 1

Thanks for the reply! 

I just did this same test with it going at 60% speed. Same result. It's actually dragging across the previously laid line and colliding with it and snapping it. I don't understand what's going on. I have watched videos of people printing fast and not having issues. 

Yes I'm familiar with the "dragging across lower line and snapping".  I've seen it many times.  Cura tends to make infill at like 2X printing speed so I'd try even slower - 20% - just to see what happens.  Also you want the fan as low as possible but still turning.

Check your infill line width!  I didn't think of that - but cura can do some really stupid things like setting that to a different value than the rest of the print.  Make sure it is the same as your normal line width.  Or wider.